Brien Holden Lecture

The Brien A Holden Memorial Lecture

The Brien A Holden Memorial Lecture is in recognition of the contribution made by Professor Brien A Holden to the International Society for Contact Lens Research. The Lecture will be delivered at the ISCLR Symposium held every two years. This lecture will be introduced with a statement recognising the contributions of Brien Holden to the Society and the purpose of the Brien A Holden Memorial Lecture.

The awardee

The awardee will be a distinguished scientist or clinician scientist of international standing whose area of research is of general interest to the Society but not necessarily within the ophthalmic field. The nominee would be recognised for the quality, significance, impact of their work and general relevance to the field of contact lenses and related research. The nominee may or may not be a current member of the ISCLR.  Fulfilling the selection criteria would typically require the nominee to be at the mid-career stage, meaning that current accomplishments are worthy of the award and the nominee is highly likely to continue to make significant contributions to his or her field.

The Brien A Holden Memorial Lecturers

2022 – Dr Andrew B Watson, Apple inc, Cupertino, California

2019 – Professor Gordon Wallace, University of Wollongong, Australia

2017 – Assoc Prof Yolanda Diebold, University of Valladolid and CIBER-BBN, Spain