The Hikaru Hamano Travel Fellowship

The Hikaru Hamano Travel Fellowship was established to acknowledge the contribution Hikaru Hamano had made both to the society and the science of contact lenses. This Travel Fellowship is awarded to the student whose abstract submitted to the scientific meeting has received the highest votes during the selection process. The awardee will be recognised during the Gala dinner of the scientific meeting and be presented with a plaque recognising their achievement. The amount given to the student from the Hikaru Hamano Travel Fellowship trust will equal the cost of this student’s attendance to the scientific meeting and be paid to the scientific meeting expense account for disbursement to the student.

Past winners have been:

2022 Rabia Mobeen, University of New South Wales, Sydney, Australia and,

.         Maria Navascues-Cornago, The University of Manchester, Manchester, United Kingdom

2019 Rabia Mobeen, University of New South Wales, Sydney, Australia

2017 Noor Haziq Bin Saliman, University of Manchester, UK

2015 Michael Samsom, University of Calgary, Alberta, Canada

2013 Cameron Postnikoff, University of Waterloo, Ontario, Canada


These funds were raised independent of the general society fund. The society acknowledges contributions made by the following:

The Hamano family


Bausch+Lomb Inc


Menicon Co Ltd